butternut squash pasta

I got the recipe for this pasta from the blog Farmer in the Dell written by a gal I first read about here in the New York Times. She and her boyfriend just relocated to Concord, Massachusetts and they’ve landed the sweet and rent-free gig as live-in caretakers of the Emerson House, the big old white house that Ralph Waldo Emerson used to live in. They also work at an organic farm owned by her boyfriend’s family. And they just adopted a rescue dog. And she’s a hoot.

But enough about her … how about that pasta. You take a butternut squash and cut it into cubes and toss it in olive oil, paprika, and cumin then roast it in the oven. That alone was tasty and delicious. We had a hard time stopping ourselves from eating the cubes right out of the oven and had to force ourselves to save some to make the sauce. Which is why I went out the next day and got another squash just for cubing and roasting. It’ll be awesome tonight alongside some of the red salmon I dipnetted this summer.

I didn’t follow the recipe too carefully as far as ingredients and amounts go. I just tossed in whatever looked good. If I’d added more cream, I probably could have come up with a thicker and creamier sauce but I really wanted the taste of the squash to come through so I cut back on the cream. I added more cumin and paprika than called for and I also sauteed some garlic with the onions. I ended up with alot of pasta, but I’m not complaining. I’ve been eating the leftovers for lunch for a couple of days now and I think it gets a little bit better each day.

It’s like autumn in a bowl, I tell you.

Butternet Squash Pasta

Serves four to six

1 medium-sized butternut squash peeled and cubed (smaller cubes are better for roasting faster)

1 small onion chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup of heavy cream (roughly)

1 T paprika

1 T cumin

1/2 cup or more of freshly grated parmesan cheese, plus more for sprinkling

1/3 cup fresh sage leaves minced, plus more for sprinkling

3/4 of pound or so of the pasta of your choice

Toss the cubed butternut squash in olive oil, cumin, and paprika.  Roast in the oven for about 25 minutes at 375 degrees.

Meanwhile cook the pasta according to directions and sauté the onion and garlic in olive oil over medium heat until soft and fragrant. 

Place the roasted squash in a food processor with the onion, cream, parmesan cheese, and sage.

Top your pasta off with the butternut sauce and garnish with a little more sage and cheese.

Leave a Reply

