writer’s conference

So like I said, I spent a long weekend in Homer attending the Kachemak Bay Writer’s Conference (as an aside, there’s a cab company there named Kachecab – heh) and it was a very interesting and inspiring environment with lots of people who are very, very into writing. I scribbled all sorts of things in a notebook and took lots of photos of this and that. I went there without my usual buddy at my side, all by my lonesome, and so it was often a bit awkward and it definitely got me outside my comfort zone but in a good way. There was lots of socializing at mealtimes but thankfully, the workshops didn’t include the dreaded, “Now turn to your neighbor and share what you just wrote…”

The faculty did a reading at Alice’s Champagne Palace one night:

Camille Dungy doing her reading. She was my favorite. And I like how she’s glowing in this photo. Kind of like in real life:

The conference was held at the Lands End resort:

Sack lunch day:

Sack lunch on the beach, sitting on a log:

Ready to listen to another faculty reading:

 Funky painting hanging on a wall outside the conference room:

One of the instructors read from a poem entitled Berryman by W.S. Merwin. Here’s an exerpt:

I asked how can you ever be sure

that what you write is really

any good at all and he said you can’t

you can’t you can never be sure

you die without knowing

whether anything you wrote was any good

if you have to be sure don’t write

Leave a Reply

