a night out on the town

Anchorage does this First Friday thing and a bunch of us got together to enjoy half-off appetizers and drinks, stroll through the galleries, and walk around downtown on a ghost tour.

Our first stop was Muse Restaurant at the Anchorage museum, looking all sexy & red:

Ingrid the ex-exchange student from Norway came back for a visit and joined us for a night out. She had her first oyster (declared it “weird”) and had a good time with us even though we’re a decade (or two) older than she is.

I wasn’t in the mood for half-price appetizers so I ordered the gigantic roasted beet salad instead. It was pretty tasty.

There was live jazz music going on right next to our table. Not too shabby.

Everyone was a little tired from working all day, I think, but it didn’t take them long to perk up, what with all that food & atmosphere.

Everyone and their grandfather seems to hate the museum statue that was installed a couple of years ago, but I myself am a fan. I see it as a tongue-in-cheek statement on all the ugly, brown, boxy buildings that Alaskans just love to build everywhere, in spite of the fact that it’s dark and cold for half the year. It can get a little dismal and gray here in the wintertime. What in the hell possesses people to choose so many different shades of brown for big buildings? Anyhoo, here we are adding a dash of performance art to the statue:

Lots of people are into fur coats here, I guess, although they usually only wear them to special events or when it’s super-cold outside. They’re not really my thing but they do make me laugh when I see a rack like this because when my family lived here back in the 1970s, it was kind of a wild town and hookers would stroll the streets wearing cheap fur coats. The family lore is that one gal propositioned my dad while we ate at a fast food restaurant. Then when I was in elementary school, the popular thing to wear amongst my girl classmates was —  you guessed it — cheap fur coats. I think they were made of small pieces of rabbit fur all pieced together and girls would sit around petting each other’s coats. I was never allowed to have one, mainly because they reminded my parents of Anchorage streetwalkers.

Downtown Anchorage is full of ever-so-many sights to see:

We also saw a tween-aged boy get attacked by the segway he was riding on. I think he was part of one of the segway tours that roll around downtown? But the tour group was nowhere in sight. It was just him trying to do stunts on his new toy, until he rammed into into a pillar and he fell off and the segway kept rolling and bouncing on top of him while he was pinned underneath it. Pretty exciting and hopefully, a good lesson for him.

Ingrid shoots a photo of the haunted bathroom stall. What a bummer for a ghost to be tied to a public restroom for all eternity. The ghost tour was fun. Nikole & I did it last year when it was brand new and it was cool to walk it again this year with more people. Here’s the Captain Cook hotel looking all spooky-ooky. I have a special place in my heart for the Captain Cook because back when I was in high school, Captain Joe Hazelwood was on trial for the whole Exxon Valdez oil spill disaster and one night my friend and I paid a visit to the ice cream shop that used to be in the lobby of the Captain Cook. Hazelwood and his attorney were sitting glumly at a table, glumly eating ice cream. I think of him everytime I go to the Cook.

Seth and Mariah listen to our ghost host:

We wrapped up the night at Orso where we had beers and appetizers. The waiter accidentally brought Ingrid a non-virgin mojito and no one noticed till she’d almost polished it off and Angie had a sip. Apparently it was fully loaded with alcohol. Oopsy.

We had loads of fun. Hopefully we can do it again in August!

Leave a Reply

