Fruit salsa and cinnamon chips

We were having a retirement party at work. It was to be a potluck and the request was for healthy food. I signed up for fruit and went in search of something other than your run-of-the-mill chopped fruit or fruit salad. I found this recipe for Annie’s Fruit Salsa and cinnamon chips. It has 3,008 glowing reviews. How can you go wrong with that? From the sound of it, all the ladies take this to all the church socials and baby showers and other assorted gatherings.

And it was indeed very good. I healthied it up a little by leaving the sugar and preserves out of the fruit. I don’t think it needed it. The cinnamon chip part of the recipe called for butter-flavored baking spray, which I’ve never purchased before. I eyed the spray can of Pam with suspicion in the store, wondering just how many chemicals it contained and then my eyes bulged at the price. Four dollars. Sheesh. I didn’t want to mess with greatness and screw up the recipe though so I ponied up the cash for it.

The night before the party, I cut a few whole wheat tortillas into wedges and sprayed and sprinkled and popped them in the oven to crisp up. And then, darnit, the sprayer quit working. I poked it with a needle, I tapped it on the counter, I tapped it harder on the counter… nothin’. Now it sits in the cupholder in my car to be returned the next time I’m at that store. Several people have raised their eyebrow when they spot it there. I mimic spraying a little in my mouth like breath spray.

I finished up the rest of the tortillas just by brushing a little melted Smart Balance (which, now that I think about it, probably has just as many chemicals in it as the spray stuff does) on the tortilla then sprinkling it with cinnamon sugar but… double darnit! Those didn’t turn out nearly as well as the first ones I did with the spray.

I waited till the afternoon of the party to chop up all the fruit. I was worried it would get too mushy and juicy if I chopped everything the night before.

Here’s my version:

Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

  • 2 kiwis, peeled and diced
  • 2 granny smith apples – peeled, cored and diced
  • 8 ounces raspberries – I used frozen, just because the fresh ones were too expensive at $5
  • 1 pound strawberries, diced
  • 10 (10 inch) whole wheat tortillas
  • butter flavored cooking spray
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon sugar
  1. Mix fruit together in a large bowl. Cover and chill in the refrigerator at least 15 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Coat one side of each flour tortilla with butter flavored cooking spray. Cut into wedges and arrange in a single layer on a large baking sheet. Sprinkle wedges with desired amount of cinnamon sugar. Spray again with cooking spray.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven 8 to 10 minutes. Repeat with any remaining tortilla wedges. Allow to cool approximately 15 minutes. Serve with chilled fruit mixture.
Leave a Reply

